Mission Heirloom

2/20/15 I came to Mission Heirloom with my high school friends Amy and Julie for dinner. I like the design of the place and its ambiance. The entrance, which is also the indoor seating area, displayed colorful juice, kombucha drinks, breads, and other products. They also had milk in the fridge not from cow, but I can’t remember which animal it was from.

I ordered a delicious shepherd’s pie. It had ground meat topped with mashed cauliflower and bean sprouts. It tasted very healthy to me because it wasn’t oily or salty. The food had the right amount of flavoring and was easy to chew for someone with braces. Our orders came with a complimentary appetizer – yuca crackers with whipped coconut oil. I thought that it was an interesting creation using yucca, a root that is rarely seen in the American restaurant menu.

The only thing I didn’t like about my experience is that I was asked to pay for tip before receiving service. Also, I couldn’t order from the menu on the wall because they have weekly menus.

Leave a comment